Life and All It’s Intricacies

Blogging is an interesting way of sharing our life experiences and how we each individually deal with obstacles and challenges that come our way.

Recently I was officially diagnosed with Fibromyalgia although I have been dealing with it for about 20 years. I also have another auto immune disorder called Hashimoto’s thyroiditis. I could go on and on about the various symptoms and issues I have to deal with on a daily basis, but then I would also have to add to it the Borderline Personality Disorder issues and the Anxiety I have to battle with on a daily basis.

Often getting a diagnosis of a physical or mental illness can be devastating. You go through a gambit of emotions. Life is unfair, why did this happen to me, what did I do to deserve this. These are all thoughts that go through our minds and it is fair and reasonable that we feel this way and that we ask these questions.

I once read “You are given the life you can handle”, and recently I saw a quote on Facebook that said “So I must be a real badass”. I have not had an easy life but I could probably reach out and touch a dozen people in a big crowd that have had it much worse than me.

Someone once told me you choose the life you live, you choose the parents you get, because you have something to learn from life. This thought process is based on the Buddhist way of thinking where they believe in reincarnation. Whatever issues you faced in a previous life and never resolved, you make a choice to come back where you can face these same issues in the hope that you will finally have your closure. I don’t know whether this is true, even on a deeply subconscious level I would like to think I wouldn’t deliberately wish for a tough life.

I like to believe that we make decisions in life based on our beliefs about ourselves and what we believe we deserve. If we have good self-worth then our decisions are based on our own self-knowledge that we are good people and we deserve good in life. And vice versa.

So in saying all this, I have the disorders and health issues I do and once thing that has come out of all of this is I AM STRONG. I AM A REAL BADASS.

I don’t know any other way other than to get up and keep going no matter what life throws at me. It is just the way I am.

How we approach hard times and challenges is what defines what road our journey will take us on.

I see my diagnoses as a positive thing, it is an opportunity to find answers and solutions, a reminder that I need to take better care of myself and honour myself as a human being. And an opportunity to educate those who have not been touched by a particular illness whether it be, mental or physical. Too long have we faced scepticism over diseases and disorders that show no visible signs. If they were made up and just an excuse for someone to get out of working or taking responsibility, then why does the medical profession have names for them. And research has shown that there is a medical fact11057645_860969127324018_4159580403020285054_n to back them up.

Unfortunately people are too quick to judge and jump to conclusions about a person. Who knows why some do this. Being open-minded is about compassion and accepting that just because you can’t see it doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

